the very un-euro cyclist

9 01 2010

Well, I just did it.

By ‘it’, I mean purchase a no-name blank road bike frame from Hong Kong ebay.

In doing so, there goes the last of my euro cred. At least I could claim some vintage euro points for the old ALAN.

So for $460.00 au delivered, I am getting frame + fork + a couple of random carbon bottle cages. Now my interpretation of what goes on with these super cheap carbon frames goes something like this…. Large multinational bike company orders 20,000 frames to be made in Chinese factory and proceed to set up the moulds. Said Chinese factory produces 30,000 of the frames, however they only paint up and deliver the 20,000 ordered by the multi-nat while the other 10,000 are sold off cheaply as blanks and un-cool people such as myself purchase them from “power-sellers” on ebay.

I have no idea what to expect when this bad boy turns up. It might be a work of art, or it might be a frame designed by Escher . All I know is that 99.2% of people thought ’88bikefun’ was a nice guy (read good ebay seller)!?! I don’t even know how long it is going to take to arrive, with the post time declared as ‘variable’.

Of course, this means there will be a CRC order placed fairly soon also. I think I am going to shoot for an all black ‘stealth’ bike. I may even go so far as to attempt to build the entire bike without using one part that is approved on the official euro cyclist checklist.

If any ‘cog spotters’ out there can identify the frame, I would love to get your take on it. (fee free to call it a P.O.S too if you identify it as a huffy :D)

should i trim the steerer???

Now I am trying to decide if I will get some ‘unkown’ stickers made up to brand the bike as uniquely my own. I’ll see how the bank account looks after I wade through my CRC wishlist.

I will post the results when it arrives as either a complete bike, or a series of once-connected carbon do-dads that have been liberated from rigid form by caring postal workers.

Happy Trails!

Actions

Information

8 responses

9 01 2010
mclovin

All you need now is a ipod full of euro trash tecno,a hot pink pillwizard.com jursey and pedal away to dof!dof!dof!dof!dof! and never show the pain.

10 01 2010
Johno

Looks the goods, I will take a shot at what is was going to be. I think it’s a Kuota frame (thanks to google images probably the Kredo model). There is a bloke at racing that has a Kuota and the chainstays are similar in that it flairs out with a square-ish top edge.

Put some red or yellow decals on it. It’ll look sweet.

Just looking through the Euro trash checklist. I seem to have ticked a LOT of boxes.
There is no way I will buy white bar tape though…Maybe if it is on a free bike.

10 01 2010
pi11wizard

Hey Johno,

Great cog spotting pick up! I have to think you are probably right!!!

http://ep.yimg.com/ca/I/trisports_2089_131305142

I think the entire bike is going to be black. Going for the stealth look, unless i get unknown stickers that is..

12 01 2010
soloxxiv

Close, but I don’t think it’s the one. Firstly, the Kuota Kredo has an integrated seatpost. Secondly, the derailleur cables rout differently, the Kuota’s are routed internally (well they disappear into the frame), whereas the Pi11wizard’s use external cable stops.
Nonetheless, there is one of these frames doing the rounds at Kooragang, which is essentially the same as Flemish Pave, so I think this will do just fine.

18 01 2010
New frame has arrived « the unknown rider

[…] here for pics […]

21 01 2010
Chain reaction order is a go « the unknown rider

[…] reaction order is a go 21 01 2010 The parts are now in the post for my road bike build. This morning may have been one of my last ever rides on the old ALAN. Looking forward to the new […]

4 02 2010
Road bike update « the unknown rider

[…] bike update 4 02 2010 The new road bike is so close to being done, all that remains is to install the cables and some bar tape and yet, I […]

4 02 2010
Flying below the radar « the unknown rider

[…] Origins of the frame […]

Leave a Reply

