One fast gear

25 05 2010

Today I picked up my single speed, a fully rigid 29er version. It is a cheapy cheap cheap KHS solo-one which I scored for the bargain price of $400.00 – brand new in box.

I drove to sydney this morning to pick it up and then spent this afternoon bolting it together. It shouldn’t have taken that long, but I had a conundrum with the head set and couldn’t get it working properly… it would bind completely or be totally loose with no in between. After about and hour of fiddling and swearing, I figured out I had a washer thingo on the bottom instead of the top and now it works perfectly. How many degrees does it take to assemble a headset?

This baby will be my all day exploration bike. It’s pretty much bullet proof and saves lots of wear on my race bikes drive line. It also means I will get a SS Nationals stubbie holder when I see a particular single speed fanatic next.

Anyways – enough chat <insert picture here>

Actions

Information

8 responses

25 05 2010
b rad

You’ll need some of this though.

25 05 2010
pi11wizard

I don’t know that it will work for me. I think my face is like teflon for beards, they just slide right off.

25 05 2010
Sammydog

TREND WHORE

26 05 2010
pi11wizard

ROADIE πŸ˜›

25 05 2010
Sammydog

Hey, I have a SS but I don’t have a stubbie holder.

25 05 2010
b rad

Your SS stands for ‘Sad Sack’ sammy! and it’s got training wheels and boing πŸ˜‰

26 05 2010
Sammydog

First off Mr Be-Rad. yes I am now a roadie(I’m riding to the pub tomorrow. As a matter of fact), I have my offroad bikes on the market for sale. I’d offer them to you or Rosco, but my bikes aren’t nearly trendy enough.

And they aren’t training wheels on the SS, they are hangover compensators.

5 06 2010
JB

Was that an ebay purchase. Seems cheap??? If not ebay where can I scam myself one from? JB

Leave a Reply

