HMBA July XC round up.

25 07 2010

Oh my god! I actually finished on the podium today (not that there actually is a podium…. maybe I will have to go build one so I can stand on it). It didn’t hurt my cause that Trenton Day suffered a mechanical early on, without which, there as no way I was going to be amongst the top riders.

My race went more or less to plan. There was the now seemingly obligatory shoulder-tree interface on the first lap when I found a wet tree root in the forrest and washed my front wheel at the most inopportune time. I hit directly ontop of the injury site from last club round, but other than some missing skin, all was OK.

I was comprehensively spanked on the first lap and watched as everyone disappeared into the distance, so I settled into a pace I thought I could hold for 2 hours and amused myself as there was very little lapped traffic to chat to. Every now and again, I could catch a glimpse of Timmy Doman off in the distance, but I wasn’t making any inroads. By lap 4 however, I got to the climb and realized Pungy and Tim were only just up the road and I was gaining. Rather than pushing too hard, I held my pace and eventually caught Pungy towards the end of the 4th lap and caught Timmy at Mawkes Creek on my 5th lap.

Amazingly, I was still feeling quite strong and I churned out a fairly quick 5th lap. In every other race I can remember, I have suffered my way to the finish with flagging lap times and lots of self bargaining to prevent myself quitting. Today, I could have gone back out for another lap or two quite comfortably. It seems that riding 25 kg single speeds for days on end is an effective training tool.

What was my race highlight? Without a doubt, it was receiving the full tour de France treatment by the Ronnster who ran alongside me up camel back climbing screaming encouragement and waving his gorgeous pink pom pom.

What was my race low-light? Without a doubt, it was receiving the full tour de France treatment by the Ronnster who outran me up the hill and had to wait for me to catch up so that he could continue his chants.

After the race I went out to do a little flagging for a proposed climb that I am going to call ’23. Why? Well,  that is the number of switchbacks it takes to get to the level of the downhill Road Gap. It is going to make cardiac climb at Mt Stromlo look like a nanna line. Of course, this will be the A-line option and I have found a more forgiving route for mere mortals (myself included). I think I might call that bit ‘minus twelve’ since it cuts out around 12 switchbacks.

I had made around 120 flags from old spokes which were pushed into the ground to make trail marking on open terrain a piece of cake. The only problem is, 120 flags is no-where near enough and I can’t rummage up enough spokes to keep up with demand. I need 10-20 times that many.  Has anyone out there in the land of the interwebs have any ideas for a spoke substitute?  Essentially, I am looking for a length of narrow gauge metal about 20-30 cm in length that is free and available in large quantities. Anyone?

Actions

Information

11 responses

25 07 2010
mclovin

Well done mate but thats the last time I do the ruining with the riders thing ,it looks like i`ve strained my calf muscle run with Dan DOH!! no riding this week I`m so over injury’s

25 07 2010
pi11wizard

Sorry to hear that mate. Is that why you were wandering around course with Sammydog? A good pair of legs between you?

25 07 2010
Simon F

Ross … u could try using kebab skewers for markers. 50pk at Coles for about $2.00. Would be better for the environment too being made from wood.

25 07 2010
pi11wizard

I thought about that, but wasn’t sure how they would go when trying to press them into hard ground. I suspect i will break quite a few. The wallabies also seem to be bending quite a few of the spokes I have been using but at least you can bend them straight again.

25 07 2010
mclovin

Yer we were degaussing our fortunes for the year

26 07 2010
Simon F

A man could die waiting for these XC results !!!!!

26 07 2010
pi11wizard

There isn’t regular timer since everyone wants to race. This often leads to some data input errors from volunteers as they havent done it before. Steve is probably massaging things to get meaningful results.

Sent from my iPhone

26 07 2010
Sammydog

No, steve got me the results last night. I need to put them up tonight.

26 07 2010
pi11wizard

Hurry up Lenny, how are we meant to measurebate our lap times without results?

26 07 2010
Sammydog

I’ll delay the posting so you guys last a bit longer, your wives will love me for it.

26 07 2010
Simon F

No she already hates you for making me climb The Mudderhorn fkn twice on the weekend.

Leave a Reply

