Trail counter

24 11 2010

I managed to get out to Awaba this afternoon and install my DIY trail counter. I did my best to hide it and time will tell how effective my camouflage will be. If you  happen to spot it whilst noodling around, please leave well enough alone and let it get us some stats.

DIY sensor

Power

This afternoon I had a little bit of time up my sleeve and wanted to explore around the link road a little more. 6 months ago, Timmy showed me some amazing single track that heads West along the North side of the road. I managed to pick it up again and go for a spin – Its totally rad. I followed it all the way through to the ‘vent trail’ and then climbed back up out of the valley on a fire road which took me back to my starting point. I was curious to see if I could link it up with the trail that Freemo and I rode this morning so I spend quite a bit of time riding up and down every fire trail I could find and eventually found a link. Unfortunately, the link is ridiculously steep and completely unrideable on the single speed so I abandoned the idea and decided that a fire road  climb back out and rolling 100m along the side of the main road was a better option. This is now one of my favorite pieces of trail – I can’t wait to ride it again…. probably on the coghead xmas ride.

8.25 hour race at Awaba this weekend. Should be a great event and the biggest to ever run at Awaba. It will be tops!

See you there!

Actions

Information

9 responses

25 11 2010
Flogger

There are a couple of trails from the motorway down to the vent area that are a blast if you keep the fingers off the brakes. It’s an area with heaps of potential.

25 11 2010
pi11wizard

I rode up and down most of them. Had the odd moment or two where I thought I was going to die 🙂

Sent from my iPhone

25 11 2010
Flogger

Haha – that’s the SS joy for ya 😉

25 11 2010
Sammydog

Hey, I found a counter just like that today when I was riding.

25 11 2010
pi11wizard

Was it obvious or did it take a little finding? Did you stop and look at the count?

Sent from my iPhone

25 11 2010
Sammydog

I’ll go downstair and look. I’m using it now to keep track of my beer.

25 11 2010
b rad

If I ride to your fridge, will I become a statistic?

Is there anything fun to ride on the way to your fridge?

Have those steps been concreted into a nanny ramp for my safety?

25 11 2010
pi11wizard

I’m sorry, but a staircase is over gradient. Without a grade reversal, that particular trail will have to be closed.

25 11 2010
Sammydog

No, see Mr p!llwizard, you are trying to take the IMBA gradients for soil to a solid un-erodible surface. In this instance a steeper gradient is acceptable due to the vertically reinforced steps preventing rutting, not to mention the carpet layer serving to slow runoff water velocity.

The stairs are sustainable. Just because you can’t ride them doesn’t mean they aren’t part of a legitimate trail network. If you don’t like it take the B-Line concrete path down the back of the house or just get off and walk.

Mr B-Rad, yes you will become a fat, cynical, jaded and angry statistic like the other locals, but by all means drop round for a session.

Leave a Reply

